Kim Dong Wook Emerges As Grand Prize Awardee At The “2019 MBC Drama Awards” + Complete List Of Winners

By  | 

Kim Dong Wook scores his first Grand Prize acting award for his lauded portrayal in Special Labor Inspector.

Receiving the top award at the recently concluded 2019 MBC Acting Awards, Kim adds another recognition for his role.

Hosted by Han Hye Jin and Kim Sung Joo, the 2019 MBC Drama Awards was held on December 30, 2019.

MBC’s year-end drama awards event recognizes significant performances from Korean television series which aired in the network. The Grand Prize, Excellence Prize, and other prizes are given based on the set drama categories.

Grand Prize Awardee

Being invited to MBC Drama Awards for the first time, Kim Dong Wook was emotional in his acceptance speech. The actor relays knowing the weight and expectations that he has to give to viewers as a protagonist. Thus, he confesses feeling worried in the duration of filming.

“I don’t know what to do with this glorious prize. I will never be lazy in the future, and I will always be an actor who will work hard to act. I will do my best to be a person who can live with gratitude to many people,” Kim said.

Top Excellence Awardees

Aside from the Grand Prize award, Kim also gains the Top Excellence for Actor in Monday-Tuesday drama. Lim Ji Yeon (Welcome 2 Life) achieves the Top Excellence for Actress in the same drama bracket.

Meanwhile, One Spring Night main leads Jung Hae In and Han Ji Min, as well as, Shin Se Kyung (Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung) are Top Excellence victors for Wednesday-Thursday special program drama.

Jung expresses gratitude receiving the honor. He extends thankful words to Han Ji Min for making the filming a happy occasion.

The best awards for the daily and weekend dramas for men and women are given to Lee Sang Woo (Golden Garden) and Ye Ji Won (Never Twice). Lee, who gave the shortest speech from the winners, was cutely coaxed by host Kim Sung Joo to add more words delighting the attendees.

Character actress Ye Ji Won, who has been consistently showcasing her relentless talent, did not expect the award and is beyond elated to receive it. She also urges her on-screen partner Oh Ji Ho to come up to the stage and share the award with him.

Individual Awards

For his lingering role in Partners for Justice 2, No Min Woo’s presence did not go unnoticed and he is given the Scene Stealer award.

The actor portrayed a doctor saddled with Dissociative Identity Disorder and is the first recipient of the honor which was just introduced this season.

Scoring the Best Writer award is Kim Ban Di, who penned Special Labor Inspector. The Best Child Actor is received by Lee So Ah from Partners for Justice 2.

Earning the nod of the audience, Extraordinary You claims the Viewers’ Choice Drama. Director Kim Sang Hyeop who received the award accepted it as compliment for the challenging concept of the series. Acknowledging the difficulties they faced, he urges for the viewers to find their own meaningful days.

Additionally, the love pairing of Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung successfully charmed the K-Drama patrons. Thus, Cha Eun Woo and Shin Se Kyung earn the Best One-Minute Drama Couple.

Excellence Awardees

A mixture of veteran and rising actors clinched Excellence Prizes for their impeccable performances in their respective dramas.

Oh Man Suk and Park Se Young won for the Monday-Tuesday special program drama. Likewise, Cha Eun Woo and Kim Hye Yoon achieved the same feat on the Wednesday-Thursday program slot.

Ryu Soo Young and Park Se Wan garnered the awards under daily and weekly drama category. Married to actress Park Ha Sun, Ryu shared the victory with his wife and deceased brother-in-law. In his acceptance speech, he mentioned how he remembered his brother who was kind and had a beautiful smile.

Supporting Actors Awards

Actors Lee Ji Hoon and Oh Dae Hwan secure the supporting actor prizes for Monday-Tuesday and Wednesday-Thursday drama spots respectively. Jung Si Ah succeeds in the Daily/Weekend drama batch.

Lastly, Kim Hye Yoon, Lee Jae Wook and SF9’s Rowoon are hailed as the Best New Actress and New Actors.

Below are the full list of winners

Grand Prize (Daesang) – Kim Dong Wook (Special Labor Inspector)

Top Excellence Award Actor Monday-Tuesday Drama – Kim Dong Wook (Special Labor Inspector)

Top Excellence Award Actress Monday-Tuesday Drama – Lim Ji Yeon (Welcome 2 Life)

Top Excellence Award Actor Wednesday-Thursday Drama – Jung Hae In (One Spring Night)

Top Excellence Award Actress Wednesday-Thursday Drama – Shin Se Kyung (Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung) and Han Ji Min (One Spring Night)

Top Excellence Award Actor Daily/Weekend Drama – Lee Sang Woo (Golden Garden)

Top Excellence Award Actress Daily/Weekend Drama – Ye Ji Won (Never Twice)

Excellence Award Actor Monday-Tuesday Drama – Oh Man Suk (Partners for Justice 2)

Excellence Award Actress Monday-Tuesday Drama – Park Se Young (Special Labor Inspector)

Excellence Award Actor Wednesday-Thursday Drama – Cha Eun Woo (Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung)

Excellence Award Actress Wednesday-Thursday Drama – Kim Hye Yoon (Extraordinary You)

Excellence Award Actor Daily/Weekly Drama – Ryu Soo Young (Love in Sadness)

Excellence Award Actress Daily/Weekly Drama – Park Se Wan (Never Twice)

Drama of the Year Viewers’ ChoiceExtraordinary You

Best One Minute Couple – Cha Eun Woo & Shin Se Kyung (Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung)

Best Writer – Kim Ban Di (Special Labor Inspector)

Best Child Actor: Lee So Ah (Partners for Justice 2)

Best Scene Stealer – No Min Woo (Partners for Justice 2)

Best Supporting Actor/Actress Monday-Tuesday Drama – Oh Dae Hwan (Special Labor Inspector)

Best Supporting Actor/Actress Wed-Thurs Drama – Lee Ji Hoon (Rookie Historian Goo Hae Ryung)

Best New Actor – Lee Jae Wook and Kim Ro Woon (Extraordinary You)

Best New Actress – Kim Hye Yoon (Extraordinary You)

Congratulations to the winners!

Source: Sports Chosun

Image Credit: MBC | Yonhap