55th Baeksang Arts Awards Unveils Nominees For Television Drama Category

By  | 

It will be a fierce competition between the best and brightest shows and actors on the 55th Baeksang Arts Awards.

Candidates vying for honors in television category were officially unveiled on April 4 by the Baeksang Arts Awards secretariat through its official website.

Honoring outstanding achievements in South Korean entertainment industry, the esteemed annual award ceremony recognizes accomplishments in film, television and theater works.

READ: Year in Review: 2018 Best Korean Dramas

55th Baeksang Arts Awards55th Baeksang Arts Awards

From the pool of impressive dramas which aired in April 2018 till March 2019, the top dramas nominated are as follows:

  • My Mister (tvN)
  • Mr. Sunshine (tvN)
  • The Light in Your Eyes (jTBC)
  • Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Children of Nobody (MBC)

55th Baeksang Arts Awards

As expected for the best actor race, the competition is stiff as an array of respected and talented artists were nominated.

  • Kim Nam Gil – The Fiery Priest (SBS)
  • Yeo Jin Goo – The Crowned Clown (tvN)
  • Lee Byung Hun – Mr. Sunshine (tvN)
  • Lee Sun Gyun – My Mister (tvN)
  • Hyun Bin – Memories of the Alhambra (tvN)

Meanwhile, the same picture follows for actresses competing for the best portrayal given in their respective characters.

  • Kim Jae Hyung – Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Yeom Jung Hwa – Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Kim Hye Ja – The Light in Your Eyes (jTBC)
  • Kim Tae Ri – Mr. Sunshine (tvN)
  • Lee Ji Eun – My Mister (tvN)

55th Baeksang Arts Awards

Below is the list of the nominated supporting actors and actresses.

Best Supporting Actor Nominees

  • Kim Byung Chul – Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Kim Sang Kyung – The Crowned Clown (tvN)
  • Bae Sung Woo – Live (tvN)
  • Son Ho Joon – The Light in Your Eyes (jTBC)
  • Yoo Yeon Seok – Mr. Sunshine (tvN)

Best Supporting Actress Nominees

  • Kim Min Jung – Mr. Sunshine (tvN)
  • Oh Na Ra – My Mister (tvN)
  • Yoon Se Ah – Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Lee Da Hee – The Beauty Inside (jTBC)
  • Lee Jong Eun – The Light in Your Eyes (jTBC)

On an interesting race, the roster of performers to be cited as best television actor rookies boasts acclaimed and popular artists who have been busy in film ventures.

Best New Actor Nominees

  • Park Sung Hoon – My Only One (KBS)
  • Park Hoon – Memories of the Alhambra (tvN)
  • Son Suk Go – The Best Divorce (KBS)
  • Wi Ha Joon – Romance is a Bonus Book (tvN)
  • Jang Ki Yong – Come and Hug Me (MBC)

Best New Actress Nominees

  • Kwon Na Ra – My Mister (tvN)
  • Kim Hye Yoon – Sky Castle (jTBC)
  • Park Se Wan – Just Dance (KBS2)
  • Seol In Ah – Sunny Again Tomorrow (KBS1)
  • Lee Seol – Bad Detective (MBC)

This year, the 55th Baeksang Arts Awards has further strengthened the professionalism and fairness of the examination. A panel of experts representing TV and film were nominated judges, and seven from each division were officially commissioned. Prior to the process of judging the final candidates for each category, a total of 40 experts from the industry participated in the survey to expand the scope of the examination.

The television screening program covers drama broadcast on public television, cable networks, and web channels for one season starting April 1, 2018.

South Korea’s comprehensive art awards ceremony for television and movies will be held at COEX D Hall, Seoul at 9:00 pm on May 1.

Hellokpop, as an independent Korean entertainment news website (without influence from any agency or corporation), we need your support! If you have enjoyed our work, consider to support us with a one-time or recurring donation from as low as US$5 to keep our site going! Donate securely below via Stripe, Paypal, Apple Pay or Google Wallet.