BTS, IU, & More Winners At “36th Golden Disc Awards”

By  | 

Congratulations to all the winners!

Recognizing the immense contribution of music in the Korean entertainment industry, the 36th Golden Disc Awards has recently named the Korean artists who shone the brightest in 2021.

Hosted by Lee Seung Gi, Lee Da Hee, and Sung Si Kyung, the highly-anticipated annual award ceremony happened on January 8 at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul.

Previously, the event took place for two days, one for the Album division and the other one for the Digital Song division. In compliance with social distancing regulations, this year’s ceremony was held only for one day with no audience present and the performances were pre-recorded.

Grand Prize Winners

There’s simply no stopping BTS from creating new records as they bagged the Album of the Year (Daesang) for the fifth straight year now. The septet took home the award with their 2020 special album BE.

Meanwhile, multi-talented female soloist IU achieved the Digital Song of the Year (Digital Daesang) for the second consecutive year. She won recognition with her well-loved track “Celebrity.”

Bonsang Awardees

Aside from BTS, the other K-pop acts that received the Bonsang for the Album division included IU, SEVENTEEN, NCT 127, NCT DREAM, Stray Kids, TXT, and ENHYPEN.

As for the Digital Song division, AKMU, Heize, BTS, Oh My Girl, STAYC, Lee Mujin, aespa, and IU got the Bonsang award.

Other winners

  • Artist of the Year: aespa
  • seezn Golden Disc Popularity Award: BTS
  • Cosmopolitan Artist Award: SEVENTEEN and aespa
  • Best Solo Artist: Lim Young Woong
  • Best Performance: THE BOYZ and Jeon Somi
  • Best Group: Brave Girls
  • Best Rookie Artist: STAYC and aespa

The 36th Golden Disc Awards selected candidates through screening and quantitative evaluation of sound sources and albums released from November 2020 to mid-November 2021. Moreover, the songs and albums excluded from the evaluation due to the closing period for counting in 2020 were included in the latest review.

Source: OSEN

Photo Credits: 36th Golden Disc Awards