2NE1 and PSY are awardees at the 2012 Korean Popular Culture & Arts Award

By  | 

South Korea’s Ministry of Culture, Sports & Tourism and Korea Creative Content Agency  annually holds its Korean Popular Culture and Arts Award, an award that aims to recognize people who have contributed to the Korean wave. The award categories are the Minister of Culture, Sports & Tourism Award, the Prime Minister Award, the President Award, and the  Cultural Medal.

Each year, experts in the respective fields nominate artists which are then carefully selected and evaluated. This year, 2NE1, along with Yoo Jae SeokLee Eun HaKim Hyung SeokJo Sung WooHa Jeong WooKim Dong Su and Na Yun Seon will be receiving the Prime Minister’s Award on November 19 at the Olympic Hall. The girl group has received attention for their powerful music that has been one of the headliners in K-pop.

Meanwhile, PSY who is in the same agency YG Entertainment as 2NE1, will be receiving the top award, the Cultural Medal award.

Previous notable awards are Girls’ Generations’ Prime Minister’s Award in 2011, Yang Hyun Suk‘s President’s Award in 2011 and BIGBANG‘s Minister of Sports, Culture and Tourism award in 2010.

Congratulations to 2NE1 and PSY!

Source: News and Image – Korean Popular Culture and Arts AwardYG Ladies


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.