“Secret Forest”, “Misty”, “Mother”, “Fight For My Way” & “My Golden Life” Top Contenders For Drama Honors In 54th Baeksang Arts Awards

By  | 

Final candidates for the 54th Baeksang Arts Awards were unveiled on April 6.

South Korea’s prestigious award-giving body honoring outstanding achievements in film and television has announced the candidates contending for the honor prizes.

In the television segment, tvN, jTBC, and KBS 2TV compete with their respective dramas Secret Forest, Mother, Misty, Fight For My Way and My Golden Life for the Best Drama category.

54th Baeksang Arts Awards


Check out the list of nominees.

Best Actor

Cho Seung Woo – Secret Forest (tvN)
Kim Sang Joong – Rebel (MBC)
Jang Hyuk – Money Flower (MBC)
Park Seo Joon – Fight For My Way (KBS2)
Chun Ho Jin – My Golden Life (KBS2)

Best Actress

Kim Nam Joo – Misty (jTBC)
Lee Bo Young – Mother (tvN)
Kim Sun Ah – Woman of Dignity (jTBC)
Kim Hee Sun – Woman of Dignity (jTBC)
Shin Hye Sun – My Golden Life

Best Supporting Actor

Park Ho San – Smart Prison Living (tvN)
Bong Tae Gyu – Return (SBS)
Ahn Jae Hong – Fight For My Way (KBS2)
Yoo Jae Myung – Secret Forest (tvN)
Jung Sang Hoon – Woman of Dignity (jTBC)

Best Supporting Actress

Na Young Hee – My Golden Life (KBS2)
Ra Mi Ran – Avengers Social Club (tvN)
Song Ha Yoon – Fight For My Way (KBS2)
Ye Ji Won – Should We Kiss First (SBS)
Jeon Hae Jin – Misty (jTBC)

In light of the K-drama trends in which the supporting role plays an important role, the supporting actor of the TV section was newly established for this year’s ceremony.

New actors will also be recognized in the event for their breakthrough characters in the dramas they represent, namely Kim Jung Hyun (School 2017) Park Hyung Soo (Smart Prison Living), Yang Se Jong (Temperature of Love), Seo Eun Soo (My Golden Life), Won Jin Ah (Just Between Lovers), Dasom (Sister is Alive), and child actress Heo Yeol (Mother).

The 54th Baeksang Arts Awards has broadened the scope of validating the best performers. A prelimary candidate evaluation team was formed consisting of 40 people, including PD, writer, director, and production company representative.

The judging committee of seven members from TV and movie division decided the final candidate through keen examination. There was also an art award given to art-related staffs such as shooting, editing, art, music, sound, clothes, dress, visual effects, and special effects.

The awards night is set to be held at COEX D Hall, in Seoul, at 9:30 pm on May 3. jTBC will deliver the live broadcast.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *