BLACKPINK Takes Home Best In Music Award At The 11th Shorty Music Ceremony

By  | 

Another historic feat for the BLACKPINK girls!

South Korean girl group BLACKPINK has bagged their first ever Shorty Music Award this year. Specifically, the four-member group was able to take home the “Best In Music” award.

Celebrating its 11th anniversary, the Shorty Music Awards just recently happened on May 5 in New York. With the aim of honoring “the best of social media,” the annual music ceremony continuously recognizes influential artists, content creators, and brands across various social media platforms in the last decade.

With an Instagram following of 18 million and another 20 million subscribers to their YouTube channel, the K-Pop idols bested international acts including Harry Styles, Post Malone, Kacey Musgraves, Janella Monae, Mason Ramsey, among others.

Photo From Shorty Music Awards

Due to their ongoing BLACKPINK In Your Area World Tour 2019, Jennie, Jisoo, Rose, and Lisa were not able to attend and receive the award personally. Though, the members still expressed their gratitude through a pre-recorded video message.

“Sadly, we could not make it to the show in New York because we’re currently on the North American tour, but we just wanted to say thank you. And thank you to our BLINKs as well,” Rose said.

Ongoing World Tour

Meanwhile, the femme fatale artists have busy schedules ahead as they continue their world tour.

Embarking on a six-city tour in the US, the girls have already finished performing in Los Angeles, Chicago, Hamilton, Newark, and recently in Atlanta. They will be closing their North American tour with a show in Texas on May 8.

Photo from YG Entertainment

Soon after, the idols will be treating European BLINKs in six cities. Kicking off with an exciting concert in Amsterdam on May 8, the girls will then hype fans with back-to-back shows in Manchester and London on May 21 and 22. Additionally, the K-Pop quartet will grace the Berlin stage on May 24 before meeting fans in Paris and Barcelona on May 26 and 28, respectively.