Choi Hyun Suk Completes Lineup Of YG Entertainment’s New Boy Group From “YG Treasure Box”

By  | 

YG stans, welcome Choi Hyun Suk to your family!

YG Entertainment finally announced the seventh and final member of its upcoming boy group from its reality survival show YG Treasure Box in the person of Choi Hyun Suk.

The entertainment company made the announcement through its social media channels and V Live on January 25 at 11 a.m. KST.

Choi Hyun Suk

Who is Choi Hyun Suk?

Choi Hyun Suk was born in 1999.

He participated in YG Entertainment’s survival reality show MIXNINE which aired on JTBC in 2017. He successfully made the cut as one of the nine members who will supposedly debut. However, due to conflicts between YGE and the trainees’ agencies, the promised debut did not materialize.

Choi Hyun Suk

Choi during his stint on MIXNINE (Photo from JTBC)

He then joined YG Treasure Box as one of the members of Group A, along with Bang Ye Dam, Kim Jun Kyu, Kim Seung Hun, and Kim Do Young.

Choi has previously expressed his desperation to debut under YG Entertainment as his interest for hip-hop was highly influenced by BIGBANG.

“I would like to debut since I’ve been looking up to this agency since I was young,” he said.

Choi Hyun Suk

Choi for YG Treasure Box (Photo from YG Entertainment)

Who are the members of YG Entertainment’s New Boy Group?

After almost four years since iKON, YG Entertainment is ready to introduce another boy group in its artist lineup. Following a competitive match-up of talents and abilities via YG Treasure Box, seven trainees emerged victorious and secured a spot on the upcoming seven-member boy group.

Haruto, Bang Ye Dam, So Jung Hwan, and Kim Jun Kyu were the first members to be confirmed. Their inclusion was announced on January 18 during the final episode of the show.

Haruto, Bang Ye Dam, and So Jung Hwan took the top spot in rap, vocal, and performance position battles, respectively, which gave them immediate spot on the debuting lineup.

Kim Jun Kyu earned the highest score from the combined votes of the representative producer (50 percent), online votes (20 percent), and on-site votes (30 percent).

On January 21, YGE announced the inclusion of Park Jeong Woo to upcoming seven-member boy group. Yoon Jae Hyuk became the sixth member after his position was confirmed on January 23.

What’s Next?

Haruto, Bang Ye Dam, So Jung Hwan, Kim Jun Kyu, Park Jeong Woo, Yoon Jae Hyuk, and Choi Hyun Suk will greet fans as a whole group for the first time through a broadcast on Naver’s V Live at 9 p.m. KST on January 25.