K-Drama “Rebel” Wins Big At “2017 MBC Drama Awards”

By  | 

Rebel: The Thief Who Stole The People bagged honors at the recently concluded 2017 MBC Drama Awards.

Dubbed as the home of historical dramas, Korean TV network MBC held its year-end festivity by honoring the best TV dramas which aired this year at 2017 MBC Drama Awards.

It was a balanced drama lineup for MBC this year. While counting on period dramas, the broadcast station made sure to present a variety of stories for the viewers.

Versatile actor Kim Sang Joong notched the grand prize award with his performance in Rebel:Thief Who Stole The People. The drama also won the coveted Grand Prize recognition as well as Best Screenwriter for Hwang Jin Young.

The Top Excellence Award for Monday-Tuesday drama was shared by actors Kim Ji Suk (20th Century Boy & Girl) and Jo Jung Seok (Two Cops) while Honey Lee succeeded Top Excellence Award for actress.

For daily and weekend dramas, actors Go Se Won (Return of the Lucky Pot), Kim Mi Kyung (Person Who Gives Happiness), Jang Hyuk, and Lee Mi Suk (Money Flower) achieved the Top Excellence Awards.

Top Excellence for mini-series honors went to Yoo Seung Ho (Ruler Master of the Mask) and Ha Ji Won (Hospital Ship).

2017 MBC Drama Awards

Kim Seon Ho (Two Cops), Kim Jung Hyun (Rebel), Lee Sun Bin (Missing 9), and SNSD’s Seohyun (Bad Thief, Good Thief) were recognized as best new actors and actresses respectively.

Popularity Awards were scored by Infinite‘s L and Kim So Hyun, who both starred in MBC’s highly rated period drama Ruler Master of the Mask.

2017 MBC Drama Awards

In addition, K-pop idol ASTRO gave a special stage for 2017 MBC dramas’ OSTs while giving flowers to the stars of the respective productions.

Here are the rest of the winning actors and actresses for 2017 MBC Drama Awards.

Excellence Award

Monday-Tuesday Drama –  Kim Seon Ho (Two Cops) & Chae Soo Bin (Rebel: Thief Who Stole the People)

Mini-series – Shin Sun Rok (Man Who Dies To Live) & Han Sun Hwa (Radiant Office)

Daily Drama – Kang Kyung Joon (Sisters-in-law) & Song Seon Mi (Return of the Lucky Pot)

Weekend Drama – Jang Seung Jo (Money Flower) & Jang Hee Jin (You Are Too Much)

Best Supporting Actors & Actresses

Monday-Tuesday Drama – Jung Bo Suk (The King Loves) & Seo Ik Soo (Rebel: Thief Who Stole the People)

Mini-series – Oh Jung Sae (Missing 9) & Kim Sun Kyung (Ruler) & Jang Shin Young (Radiant Office)

Daily Drama – Ahn Nae Sang (Golden Pouch) & Song Ok Soon (Person Who Gives Happiness)

Weekend Drama – Ahn Gil Kang (Bad Thief, Good Thief) & Shin Dong Min (Father, I’ll Take Care of You)

2017 MBC Drama Awards also threw in recognition for best K-drama characters. Choi Tae Joon emerged as the Best Villain while Jung Kyung Ho claimed the Best Comedy character.  Infinite L was cited as the Best Hardship character. Child actors Lee Ro Woon (Rebel) and Nam Da Reun (The King Loves) were also applauded for their performances.

Congratulations to all the winners of 2017 MBC Drama Awards!

Watch the video highlights of Jang Hyuk, Yoo Seung Ho, Ha Ji Won, Infinite’s L, Jo Jung Seok and other actors:




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.