The “60th Baeksang Arts Awards” Confirms Ceremony Date

By  | 

The 60th Baeksang Arts Awards will be held at COEX in Gangnam-gu, Seoul from 5 p.m. on May 7th, and will be broadcast live simultaneously on JTBC, JTBC2, and JTBC4.

Korea’s only comprehensive arts awards ceremony, Baeksang Arts Awards, encompassing TV, film, and theater, selects candidates through strict screening.

Before selecting candidates, a preliminary survey for each category is conducted with 60 industry expert evaluators to reference diverse voices. Judges for each category, appointed on the recommendation of a group of experts representing TV, film, and theater, decide on the final candidates through an intense screening process.

This year’s screening targets include content provided on terrestrial broadcasting, general programming, cable, OTT, and the web from April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024, as well as Korean feature films and plays performed in Korea during the same period.

The TV category includes at least four episodes of content provided by terrestrial broadcasting, general programming, cable, OTT, and the web, and in the case of serial works, only works that have been broadcast for more than one-third as of the evaluation date are included. However, works that were excluded during last year’s candidate review period will be classified as eligible for this year’s review.

The film category also targets Korean feature films released domestically during the same period. Also, works excluded due to the timing of the review period and release period are classified as eligible for next year’s review. Directors who debuted with a feature film during the judging period are eligible for the Best New Director category.

The criteria for nomination for the Rookie Award in both the TV and film categories is that there are three or fewer films with a certain amount of main or supporting roles in each category, and it is not related to the year of debut.

Meanwhile, candidates for each category for the 60th Baeksang Arts Awards can be found on the official website on April 8.

Source: Sports Donga