TV / Movies

Lee Byung Hun, Kim Nam Joo Among The Winners Of The 2nd Seoul Awards

By  | 

The 2nd Seoul Awards recognized some of the biggest and celebrated names in films and dramas this year.

2nd Seoul Awards (2)

Photo from MBC

On October 27, the awarding ceremony, held at the Hall of Peace in Kyunghee University in Seoul, handed out acting and special awards for outstanding movies and TV dramas.

The award show, now onto its second year, selected the winners through the combined scores from National Judges (30%) and Expert Judges (70%).

The Spy Gone North was awarded the 2nd Seoul Awards Grand Prize for film. The drama movie, which was directed by Yoon Jong Bin, is based on a true story about a former South Korean agent who penetrated North Korea.

Ha Jung Woo (Along with the Gods: Two Worlds) and Son Ye Jin (Be With You) bagged the Best Actor and Best Actress honors, respectively.

In addition to the Best Actor award, Along with the Gods stars, Ju Ji Hoon won the Best Supporting Actor trophy, while Ye Soo Jung got the Best Supporting Actress nod for their roles in the said movie.

Ju Ji Hoon Son Ye Jin 2nd Seoul Awards

Photo from MBC

tvN’s My Mister won this year’s Grand Prize Award for TV category. The drama is about three brothers who met a woman with a troubled past. As they deal with their struggles and navigate through life, they eventually help mend each other’s wounds.

2nd Seoul Awards1

Photo from MBC

Lee Byung Hun was declared the Best Actor for TV for his role in Mr. Sunshine. The judges praised the actor for his delicate yet powerful portrayal of US Marine Officer Eugene Choi.

Meanwhile, Kim Nam Joo got the Best Actress award TV due to her stellar acting in Misty. The actress immersed herself fully on her role and as a result, gave out a captivating performance.

Lee Byung Hun Kim Nam Joo 2nd Seoul Awards

Photo from MBC

Check the full list of The 2nd Seoul Awards winners below:

Grand Prize – The Spy Gone North
Best Performances:
Actor – Ha Jung Woo (Along With The Gods: Two Worlds)
Actress – Son Ye Jin (Be With You)
Supporting Actor – Joo Ji Hoon (Along with the Gods)
Supporting Actress – Ye Soo Jung (Along with the Gods)
New Actor – Nam Joo Hyuk (The Great Battle)
New Actress – Kim Da Mi (The Witch)

Grand Prize – My Mister (tvN)
Best Performances:
Actor – Lee Byung Hun (Mr. Sunshine)
Actress – Kim Nam Joo (Misty)
Supporting Actor – Yoo Yeon Suk (Mr. Sunshine)
Supporting Actress – Moon So Ri (Life)
New Actor – Park Hae Soo (Prison Playbook)
New Actress – Jo Bo Ah (Goodbye to Goodbye)

Other awards:
Special Acting Award – Heo Joon Ho (Come and Hug Me)
Popularity Award (Film) – Son Ye Jin (Be With You) and Do Kyung-soo (EXO’s D.O. – Along With The Gods: Two Worlds)
Popularity Award (TV) – Jung Hae In (Pretty Noona Who Buys Me Food) and Seohyun of Girls’ Generation (Time)
Hallyu Artist Award – Jung Hae In (Pretty Noona Who Buys Me Food / Something in the Rain)